This family owned and operated restaurant first opened its doors December 26, 1983. Since then it has become an iconic local business known for its famous all-day breakfast!
The Way Station
An intermediate stop, between two principal stops, with a tradition of good food and comfortable surroundings. At Craigs' we not only desire to uphold the Way Station tradition, but to expand from it.
Breakfast with a view!
RCMP transport wagon near Canmore, AB, 1920
About Canmore.
Named in 1884 by Donald A. Smith, the name Canmore originates from a town in northwest Scotland named in honour of King Malcolm III of Canmore. It means “great head” or “chief” in the Scottish Gaelic language.
The name Craig is also of Scottish Gaelic origin and means “rock”.
In 2008, the Town of Canmore unveiled The Big Head located beside Policeman's Creek bridge on Main Street.
The Canadian Pacific Railway and coal mining were the backbone of the local economy up until the 1980s.
The old mining railroad has been turned into a pathway which takes you through the forest and over the Bow River on the famous "Engine Bridge".